

## Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize announces 2018 Winner

- Annual free exhibition featuring 48 international and local artists opens to the public -



Image: Tim Silver, Untitled (When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloom'd 02)

Sydney, Australia: The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize, presented by Woollahra Council, today announced New-York based, Sydney-born artist Tim Silver and his work Untitled (When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloom'd 02) as the winner of the 18th annual acquisitive \$20,000 Prize. Sydney-artist Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran was awarded the Special Commendation award valued at \$2,000 and WA/Victorian-based artist Danielle Freakley receiving a special mention. The 2018 Mayors Award valued at \$1,000 has been awarded to Lucinda Kirkby.

The winners were chosen from a finalist group of 48 emerging and established artists by two guest judges: Australian arts administrator Michael Lynch AO CBE and Director of independent art advisory LoveArt, Amanda Love. All finalist works will be displayed as part of a free public exhibition from 20 October until 11 November 2018 at the Woollahra Council Chambers in Sydney.

Amanda Love commented on the 2018 winning sculpture: "Tim Silver has made a work that speaks to the whole of art history, reworking it, through his personal practice in a manner that speaks to the now, generally and in particular. The winning works this year are visually acute, socially relevant and temporally resonant".

Michael Lynch AO CBE added: "Tim Silver's winning work conveys a sense of the conventions of sculpture in a way that is very 21st century. It comes from a classical tradition whilst appearing to be very much of the moment. We also found Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran's sculpture to be a major



statement that is as once funny and provocative."

Prize money this year totals \$24,000 across four categories. The Prize categories are the main Acquisitive award of \$20,000; a Special Commendation award of \$2,000; with a Viewers' Choice award valued at \$1,000 to be announced at the end of the exhibiton.

Winning artist **Tim Silver** commented on the award: "Public acknowledgements such as this are a rare occurrence in an artists career and I am thrilled to be the recipient of the 2018 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize. Art is often an isolating pursuit, yet it is rarely performed alone. I would like to thank my collaborators on this project, both those know and unknown."

The judges also explained their award of a special mention to Danielle Freakley was in recognition of "her perfectly conceptual sculpture that is collaborative, engaging and very sophisticated. It pushes the limits of our views on what sculpture is."

The 2018 Prize attracted 666 entries — each for a freestanding sculpture of up to 80cm in any dimension — submitted by artists from Australia, India and the United Kingdom highlighting the Prize's growing international reputation.

The free exhibition of finalists will be supported by a program of free events ranging from artist talks with finalists, creative workshops, a special Grandparents' Day art appreciation event and guided tours.

The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize receives generous support from Principal Sponsor Mark Moran Vaucluse and Gold Sponsors John Symond AM, Merivale and D'Leanne Lewis Principal of Laing and Simmons Double Bay + Bondi Beach.

Ends

**MEDIA CONTACT:** To request artist biographies, interviews, imagery and information in relation to the Prize, please contact Julia Barnes, <u>julia@articulatepr.com.au</u>, 0402 678 589, or Kym Elphinstone, kym@articulatepr.com.au, 0421 106 139.

## **IMAGES OF FINALIST WORKS:**

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/fgoxoxqha878whk/AACSpSTFbMXpCu2hiJDt9RbNa?dl=0

## **EXHIBITION DETAILS:**

20 October - 11 November 2018

Weekdays: 9am - 5pm Weekends: 10am - 4pm

Woollahra Council, 536 New South Head Road, Double Bay, NSW

Free entry.

https://sculptureprize.woollahra.nsw.gov.au/

BACKGROUND ON THE WOOLLAHRA SMALL SCULPTURE PRIZE: The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize is a national prize for sculptures of smaller dimensions and has attracted strong support from artists, collectors, benefactors, critics, as well as the local community. The Prize was initiated in 2001 by Council to support, promote and celebrate artistic excellence and attracts local, national and



international entries each year.

2018 WOOLLAHRA SCULPTURE PRIZE FINALIST ARTISTS: Annabell Amagula (NT) Uri Auerbach (NSW) Lincoln Austin (QLD) James and Eleanor Avery (QLD) Karen Black (QLD) Tom Blake (NSW) Lauren Brincat (NSW) Bonita Bub (NSW) Alison Clouston (NSW) Steven Cybulka (SA) Karl de Waal (QLD) Paula Dunlop (QLD) Jamie Edward (TAS) Shane Forrest (NSW) Danielle Freakley (WA/VIC) Honor Freeman (SA) Rebecca Gallo (NSW) Mathieu Gallois (NSW) Amala Groom (NSW) Neeraj Gupta (INDIA) Lee Harrop (NT) Anna Horne (SA) Mehwish Iqbal (NSW) Robbie Karmel (NSW) Lucinda Kirkby (VIC) Jasper Knight (NSW) Matilda Kubany-Deane (NSW) Hannah Lees (VIC) Jess MacNeil (UK) Will Maguire (NSW) Rocket Mattler (NSW) Anne-Marie May (VIC) John Nicholson (NSW) Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran (NSW) Kirsten Perry (VIC) Eloise Rankine (NSW) Tim Silver (NSW) Katie Stackhouse (VIC) Abdullah M I Syed (NSW) Julian Talarico (NSW) Sherna Teperson (NSW) Linda Davy and Tim Barrass (ACT) John Tuckwell (NSW) Brendan Van Hek (NSW) Craig Waddell (NSW) Fiona Watson (NSW) Min Wong (WA) Ken + Julia Yonetani (NSW).