

Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize announces 2017 judges and increased prize money

- Call for entries closes 7 July 2017 for emerging & professional sculptors -



Sydney, Australia: The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize, Australia's pre-eminent national award for small sculpture presented by Woollahra Council, has announced three new guest judges for 2017 along with an increased prize pool of \$24,000. A free exhibition of finalist works for the 17th annual Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize will be presented from 14 October until 5 November 2017 at the historic Woollahra Council Chambers in Double Bay, Sydney.

The 2017 Prize sees the first Indigenous judge for the Prize with curator, writer, artist and activist Djon Mundine, OAM, along with Alexie Glass-Kantor, Executive Director, Artspace, Sydney and Curator, Encounters, Art Basel | Hong Kong, and gallerist and benefactor Roslyn Oxley, OAM.

The Prize attracts a diverse range of professional and emerging sculptors from around the world with a total of \$24,000 in prize money awarded to winning artists across four categories: the main acquisitive award of \$20,000; a Special Commendation award of \$2,000; the Viewers' Choice award of \$1,000; and the Mayor's Prize of \$1,000.

Djon Mundine, OAM said: "In an age of huge artworks, big projections and even bigger personalities and egos, one may ask; why insist on something so modest. Of course, if the art idea has integrity this will be apparent and its beauty visible no matter who the artist or what the budget. I've most often worked with lesser known artists, on ideas driven exhibitions and from the point of view of 'the god of small things' so I was very honoured to be invited into this specialised project as one of the judges."

Roslyn Oxley, OAM said: *"Having been in the industry for 35 years, it's always exciting to see new, original works as a judge. Especially for the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize, as it has cultivated some of Australia's best contemporary artists."*

Alexie Glass Kantor said: "Artists are at the forefront of innovation and the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize is an exceptional platform for viewing a breadth of approaches to contemporary art. Established in 2001, the prize has gone from strength to strength in its capacity to foreground generations of artists and draw correlations between practices that demonstrate new ways of thinking through material and form. As a jury member I feel privileged to see what artists are proposing and it is exhilarating to encounter an unpredictable array of works that will surely profile the creative ways in which artists are addressing sculpture today."

Established in 2001, the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize attracts strong support from artists, collectors and critics and is the first national acquisitive prize showcasing quality and diversity of smaller dimension sculptures. Entries will



be invited until 7 July 2017, with artists required to submit images of their original, freestanding sculpture of up to 80cm in any dimension.

More than 500 Prize entries from national and international artists are received annually with around 40 finalists' works presented in the exhibition. The main Prize winner in 2016 was Todd Robinson for his for his work *Psychic Staircase*. Previous winners also include Jan King (2002), Mikala Dwyer (2003), Louis Pratt (2006), Adam Cullen (2008), Alexander Seton (2009), Archie Moore (2010), Thor Beowulf (2012), Julia deVille (2013) and Robert Owen (2015).

Now in its 17th year, the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize is hosted by Woollahra Council to provide free public access to sculpture and to support, promote and celebrate artistic excellence.

For further details of the Prize visit: <u>http://sculptureprize.woollahra.nsw.gov.au/</u>

Ends

MEDIA CONTACTS: To request interviews, imagery and information in relation to the Prize, please contact Articulate: Kym Elphinstone, <u>kym@articulatepr.com.au</u>, 0421 106 139, Jasmine Hersee, <u>jasmine@articulatepr.com.au</u>, 0406 649 393.

EXHIBITION DETAILS: A free exhibition of all the finalist sculptures will be presented from Saturday 14 October until Sunday 5 November 2017 at the Woollahra Council Chambers. Finalists will be announced in August 2017 and the winners will be announced at the launch of the exhibition on Friday 13 October with further details to be provided closer to the time. A series of Artists' Talks will be presented as part of the program.



2017 JUDGES' BIOGRAPHIES:

Alexie Glass-Kantor is Executive Director of Artspace, Sydney, a kunsthalle space committed to supporting the commissioning of contemporary art, exhibitions, publishing initiatives, and research residencies for artists and curators through the provision of a dedicated studio program. Since 2000 she has curated or co-curated over one hundred exhibitions across independent spaces, collecting institutions, biennials and festivals, collaborating with international artists across generations to develop projects throughout the Asia-Pacific, Europe and North America. Prior to her appointment to Artspace she was Director–Senior Curator, Gertrude Contemporary, Melbourne, and Curator, Australian Centre for the Moving Image, Melbourne. She is currently Curator of the Encounters installation sector for Art Basel | Hong Kong 2015–2018.

Roslyn Oxley, OAM, Gallerist and arts benefactor has been a leading dealer in contemporary art in Sydney since 1982. She has driven the Gallery's commitment to promoting cutting-edge contemporary art, winning critical and commercial recognition for the Gallery's artists both in Australia and overseas. Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery artists have gone on to be some of the very best practitioners in Australian contemporary art, such as Tracey Moffatt, Bill Henson, David Noonan, Patricia Piccinini, Dale Frank, Fiona Hall, Destiny Deacon, James Angus, Newell Harry, and TV Moore. For over two decades Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery has been maintaining a presence at selective international art fairs such as Art Cologne, Hong Kong Art Fair, Art Basel, The Armory Show and Frieze New York. As well as being a significant art dealer, Roslyn Oxley has been a board member of a number of high profile arts organisations such as the Melbourne Art Fair and has also been invited to participate on Advisory Committees established by the Australia Council for the Arts and Austrade regarding export strategies for Australian contemporary art.

Djon Mundine OAM is a member of the Bandjalung people of orthern New South Wales and a distinguished pioneer Indigenous curator. A foremost figure in the Australian art world, he is an activist, writer, critic, and commentator. He is well known as the concept curator for the <u>Aboriginal Memorial</u> [1988] installation permanently on display in the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra. Mundine was awarded an OAM (Order of Australia, Medal for services to the visual arts) in 1993 and was Research Professor at Minpaku Museum of Ethnology in Osaka between 2005-2006. He was Senior Curator for the Gallery of Aboriginal



Australia, National Museum of Australia, Canberra until 2000, after his position as Senior Curator of Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Programs at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Sydney. Djon's <u>Bungaree's Farm</u> projection exhibition won the Museum Australia's National Exhibition Award in 2015. At the Cementa Festival he worked with descendants of Jimmy and Peggy Lambert in painting a memorial mural on the external wall of Kandos Museum. Djon installed mixed media as part of the 'Another Country' exhibition at Auburn's Peacock Gallery and 'I Was Born by a River' with photographers Joe Mallard, Peter McKenzie, and painter Michael Philps, at the Rocks Discovery Museum. Mundine continues to relentlessly curate and write on Aboriginal art and is currently a Ph.D candidate at University of NSW.