Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize presented to international artist for first time - New Zealand artist Natalie Guy awarded \$15,000 acquisitive prize -



L to R: Winning sculpture 'Form for modern living #2' by Natalie Guy and Prize winner, New Zealand artist Natalie Guy

Sydney, Australia: The 2014 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize – Australia's pre-eminent national prize for small sculpture – has been awarded to an international artist for the first time in the Prize's 14-year history. New Zealand artist Natalie Guy, based in Auckland, has been awarded the \$15,000 acquisitive main prize for her work, *Form for modern living #2*, a five-kilogram bronze cast of what was originally a reworked plywood school-chair.

Form for modern living #2 builds on a series of 'pseudo-modernist' sculptures that Ms. Guy began creating in 2012, exploring the nature of what is collected and exhibited in both the private and public sphere. Greatly influenced by modernist mid-century interior objects, domestic interiors and the familiarity of everyday objects, she also draws from celebrated British sculptor Barbara Hepworth's series of *Forms*.

Ms. Guy will be awarded the Acquisitive prize money of \$15,000, which was increased this year, at the opening of the exhibition this Friday 17 October at Woollahra Council Chambers. The sculpture will be acquired into the Council's permanent public collection.

A record number of entries were submitted to the Prize this year, with Ms. Guy's sculpture being one of nearly 600 works submitted that was later chosen from a selection of 45 finalists. The judging panel for the 14th annual Prize was comprised of Carriageworks Director Lisa Havilah, former Director of Sotheby's Australia, Justin Miller and philanthropist Gretel Packer.

Commenting the judging process and choice of winner, Carriageworks Director, Lisa Havilah said: "This year there is a high level of submissions in terms of concept but also in terms of technical application. Having New Zealand artist Natalie Guy win for the construction of such a thoughtful form reflects the growing standard of the Prize in Australia and in international communities."

Justin Miller commented: "The 2014 Prize is up there with the most exciting I have seen. There is a wonderful breadth of vision with Guy's winning piece reflecting just this. It is so calm and beautifully resolved."

Commenting on the judging process, Gretel Packer said: "There is such a diverse range of media and artists from around the world. The collaborative judging process has been greatly enjoyable."

Established in 2001, the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize is Australia's first national award for an original, freestanding sculpture of up to 80 centimetres in any dimension. Prize money increased this year to a total of \$19,000 across four categories. The Prize categories are the main Acquisitive award of \$15,000; a Special Commendation award of \$2,000; the Viewers' Choice award of \$1,000; and for the first time in 2014, a new prize titled the Mayor's Award, valued at \$1,000.

MEDIA RELEASE EMBARGOED UNTIL 0800hrs Friday 17 October 2014

The prestigious prize has been previously won by a number of well-known artists, including Julia deVille, who won the 2013 Prize with her work *Sorrow*, a taxidermy stillborn fawn laid out on a silver platter. Previous winners also include Mikala Dwyer (2003), Louis Pratt (2006), Adam Cullen (2008), Alexander Seton (2009), Archie Moore (2010) and Thor Beowulf (2012).

The 2014 Woollahra Sculpture Prize finalist artists exhibiting works in the exhibition are: *Peculiar Annes* featuring Janet Parker-Smith, Claude Jones and Cleo Gardiner (NSW); Tully Arnot (NSW); Gunjan Aylawadi (NSW); Stephen Bird (NSW); Annette Blair (NSW); Linda Brescia (NSW); Merric Brettle (VIC); Will Coles (NSW); Peter Cooley (NSW); Micaldo Combriani (NSW); Lynda Draper (NSW); Merran Esson (NSW); Neil Evans (NSW); Emily Floyd (VIC); Leah Fraser (NSW); Xia Gao (USA); Natalie Guy (NZ); Titania Henderson (VIC); James Jameson (QLD); Freya Jobbins (NSW); Sherie Knipe (VIC) Miroslav Kratky (NSW); Dinnl Kunoth Kemarre (WA); Camie Lyons (NSW); Alasdair Macintyre (QLD); Simon McGrath (NSW); Callum Morton (VIC); Kendal Murray (NSW); Mee-Sum Kim Park (NSW); Nicky Parras (NSW); Kirsteen Pieterse (HK); Guido Pigni (ITALY); Campbell Robertson-Swann (NSW); Sangeeta Sandrasegar (VIC); Sharnie Shield (NSW); Morgan Shimeld (NSW); Liz Shreeve (NSW); Melissa Smith (TAS); Abdullah Syed M I (NSW); Yusuke Takemura (NSW); Natalie Thomas (VIC); Peter Vandermark (ACT); Bridgid Vidler (UK); Craig Waddell (NSW); and Ben Young (NSW).

The winners of the Special Commendation, Mayor's Award, the Highly Commended, the Viewer's Choice awards and the Plinth Prize will be announced at the official launch event on the evening of Friday 17 October 2014 held at the Woollahra Council Chambers in Sydney.

Ends

MEDIA CONTACT: To request interviews and imagery please contact Kym Elphinstone, kym@articulatepr.com.au 0421 106 139 or Anna Shapiro, anna@articulatepr.com.au, 0417 043 205.

EXHIBTION DETAILS:

A free exhibition of the 2014 Prize will be presented from Saturday 18 October until Sunday 2 November at the Woollahra Council Chambers in Sydney. All sculptures are available for sale with the exception of the winning work that is acquired into Woollahra Council's public collection. Further information is available at <u>http://sculptureprize.woollahra.nsw.gov.au</u>.

NATALIE GUY BIOGRAPHY:

Natalie completed a Masters of Fine Art with First Class Honours at Elam School of Fine Arts, University of Auckland, New Zealand in 2013 having completed a Post Graduate Diploma in 2011. She holds a Diploma in Fine Arts from Otago Polytechnic. Natalie has been selected as a finalist in the 2014 Parkin Drawing Award, 2014, 2013 and 2012 National Contemporary Art Award and 2013 and 2012 Annual Wallace Art Award. She has represented Elam School of Fine Arts twice in the annual Elam-Ilam exhibition in 2013 and 2012 and was a selected for the Elam New Graduate Award exhibition in 2013. Natalie Guy's practice is concerned with design and function, currently focused around pseudo modernist design. This continues an exploration of the inherent relationships between objects and the formal interplays between objects in space. Guy's work has has recently focused on the domestic interior and utilising the familiarity of everyday objects and mid-century sculpture/design. These objects are reworked, and reconfigured with the intention of creating a mix of the familiar and the ambiguous. Website: http://natalieguy.com/

ABOUT THE PRIZE: The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize is a national prize for sculptures of smaller dimensions and has attracted strong support from artists, collectors, benefactors, critics, and the local community. The Prize was initiated in 2001 by Council to promote and celebrate artistic excellence, and encourage local community access to the Council Chambers as a site for celebrating and sharing cultural development. The Prize attracts local, national and international entries each year. The 2014 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize is generously supported by Principal Sponsor Mark Moran Vaucluse; Gold Sponsors Woolworths, John Symond AM and Sanchia Brahimi; and Silver Sponsors Ashdel Properties Pty Ltd and Catalina Rose Bay.