Media Release 1 May 2020



# Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize announces 2020 judges

- Call for entries closes 17 July 2020 -



**Sydney, Australia:** The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize, Australia's pre-eminent award for small sculpture presented by Woollahra Council, has announced three new guest judges for 2020 along with an increased prize pool of \$29,000 to mark its 20<sup>th</sup> anniversary. Artists are now invited to submit their entries until 17 July.

The 2020 Prize judges are: Lara Strongman, Director Curatorial and Digital at the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia; Australian style pioneer and internationally acclaimed artist and designer Jenny Kee AO; and art historian, writer and lecturer, Joanna Capon OAM.

The Prize attracts some of the world's most exciting and innovative professional and emerging sculptors, with prize money awarded to winning artists across four categories: the main acquisitive award of \$25,000; a Special Commendation award of \$2,000; the Viewers' Choice award of \$1,000; and the Mayor's Prize of \$1,000.

Joanna Capon commented on joining the judging panel, "I am delighted to be involved in this year's Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize which is always an important event in Sydney's Art Calendar. In these very challenging times it will be even more significant, allowing artists the opportunity to show their works and the community to show them our support."

Lara Strongman said, "At times of crisis, the arts are critically important in showing us new ways to look at the world around us and to imagine the future. I'm pleased to be part of the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize this year and I'm looking forward to seeing the wide range of work. Sydney has an enviable reputation for the quality of its art and culture – and more than ever, we need to support our artists."

Jenny Kee added, "In this 20<sup>th</sup> Anniversary year – what a year! – I am thrilled to be part of the judging of the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize. At this time of crisis it's so important for artists to have a platform in the form of this Prize and long may it continue."

Mayor of Woollahra Susan Wynne said, "This is a milestone year for the Prize, which has built a distinguished reputation over the past 20 years and attracts some of the world's best artists. It has featured many truly incredible works throughout its history and I'm excited to see more beautiful artistry on display in 2020."

Established in 2001 as the first national acquisitive prize showcasing quality and diversity of smaller dimension sculptures, the Prize attracts strong support from artists, collectors and critics. Entries are open until 17 July 2020, with artists required to submit images of their original, freestanding sculpture of up to 80cm in any dimension. For the first time, entries will be accepted for wall hanging sculptural work as it is anticipated that the finalists' exhibition will coincide with the planned opening of Woollahra Council's new art gallery in the former Woollahra Library heritage building in Double Bay in late 2020 (subject to COVID-19 social distancing regulations).

Media Release 1 May 2020



Last year, 43 finalists were selected from 634 entries. The main Prize winner in 2019 was Sydney based artist Merran Esson and her work Autumn On The Monaro. Previous winners include Jan King (2002), Mikala Dwyer (2003), Louis Pratt (2006), Adam Cullen (2008), Alexander Seton (2009), Archie Moore (2010), Thor Beowulf (2012), Julia deVille (2013), Robert Owen (2015), Todd Robinson (2016), Sanné Mestrom (2017) and Tim Silver (2018).

For further details visit: sculptureprize.woollahra.nsw.gov.au

Ends

MEDIA CONTACT: Matt Frilingos, matt.frilingos@woollahra.nsw.gov.au, 0407 995 175.

**KEY DATES:** Entries close: Friday 17 July 2020 Finalists notified: August 2020

## 2020 JUDGES' BIOGRAPHIES:

## About Doctor Lara Strongman

Dr Lara Strongman is Director Curatorial and Digital at the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia. She was formerly Head Curator at Christchurch Art Gallery, and Deputy Director at City Gallery Wellington in Aotearoa New Zealand. Lara is an award-winning writer and editor, and was a long time film and TV critic for Radio New Zealand. She was a member of Christchurch's Public Art Advisory Group from 2008-2019. She moved to Sydney in 2019. Her current research interests include contemporary photography, issues in public art, and art's response to situations of crisis.

## About Joanna Capon OAM

Joanna Capon OAM is an Art Historian, Industrial Archaeologist, curator, writer, cataloguer and lecturer. Joanna is a current Committee Member of the Museum of the Chinese in Australia (MOCA). Her past appointments include Chair of the Australian Centre for Photography; the Operation Art Management Group and the Fundraising Committee of the Big Anxiety Festival; Chair and member of the Children's Hospital at Westmead's Health Care Quality Committee. She was a Board member of the Sydney Children's Hospital Network, the George Institute for Global Health, Museums and Galleries NSW, Editorial Advisory Board of Art and Australia, and Member of the Visual Arts and Crafts Committee of the NSW Ministry for the Arts, member of the SOCOG Public Art Advisory Committee and of the Australia China Council.

Joanna has been the Honorary Art Curator at The Children's Hospital at Westmead for 21 years. Her books include Guide to Museums in China; numerous articles in a variety of publications on European art history, Chinese art, industrial archaeology and art as a part of healing.

She has lectured in both Australia and the UK.

## About Jenny Kee AO

A pioneer of Australian style and an internationally acclaimed artist and designer, Jenny Kee's vibrant art and design reflects her passion for the unique Australian environment.

Over 40 years, Jenny's work has appeared on silk, paper, wool, cotton, ceramics and canvas.

Her designs are world renowned, exhibited at the Art Gallery of NSW, the Australian National Gallery, London's Victoria & Albert Museum, the Marimura Museum in Tokyo and Sydney's Powerhouse Museum.

She has received numerous commissions, including works for Parliament House in Canberra, the Australian Bicentenary and her parade of costumes for the Opening Ceremony of the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games.

She has been awarded The Australian Fashion Laureate by the New South Wales government, has been inducted into the Design Institute of Australia Hall of Fame and received an Order of Australia for distinguished service to the Australian fashion industry and contributions to the environment and conservation.