2020 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize – 20 years in 2020

Established in 2001, the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize is Australia’s pre-eminent award for small sculpture presented by Woollahra Council. In 2020 there will be an increased prize pool of $29,000 to mark its 20th anniversary.

The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize attracts strong support from artists, collectors and critics and is the first national acquisitive prize for an original, freestanding sculpture of up to 80cm in any dimension. In 2020 entries will also be accepted for wall hanging sculptural work.

The main award each year is the acquisitive 'The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize' which expands the Council's permanent public collection. On display all year round for the community to enjoy for free, visitors can discover some of the world’s most exciting contemporary sculptures and often be introduced to the most innovative artists working in the medium.

Prizes totalling AUD $29,000 include:

  • The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize – an acquisitive award of $25,000 (Woollahra Council will keep the winning work)
  • The Special Commendation – a non-acquisitive award of $2,000
  • The Mayor's Award – a non-acquisitive award of $1,000
  • The Viewers' Choice – a non-acquisitive award of $1,000

In 2019, 43 finalists were selected from 634 entries. The main Prize winner in 2019 was Sydney based artist Merran Esson and her work Autumn On The Monaro.

Key dates

  • Entries open: 1 May 2020
  • Entries close: 31 July 2020, 11:59pm (AEST)
  • Finalists for the 2020 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize will be announced by October ahead of the exhibition, which will be staged early next year in the new Woollahra Gallery at Redleaf (subject to COVID-19 social distancing regulations).

Sign up to our e-newsletter to receive the latest information on how to enter, judges, exhibition updates and more.

"The Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize has distinguished itself as one of the more critically significant awards for a local artist to win. Previous recipients include some of Australia's best contemporary artists such as Mikala Dwyer, Adam Cullen, Alexander Seton and Archie Moore." - the art life

2013 Prize Winner Image: Julia deVille, Sorrow. stillborn deer, glass, antique platter, rubies 0.35ct, enamel paint. 56 x 35 x 15 cm. Winner of the 2013 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize and Viewers' Choice Award.